World Cup

How many times have England won the world cup?

Find out the achievements of the English football team at the World Cups in history. England won the World Cup several times.

England is considered the birthplace of modern world football. It also owns the most attractive national football championship in the world. However, the achievements of the Three Lions in the biggest football arena on the planet are quite modest.

Won the World Cup only once in 1966

The World Football Championship has been held 21 times and England has won the championship once in 1966, held at home.

The 1966 World Cup was the 8th time the world football cup was held, with 16 teams participating, 32 matches held at 8 different locations across England.

How many times have you won the world cup?
England won the first and only World Cup in 1966

The home team started the World Cup not really smoothly when they were held to a draw by Uruguay in the opening match. Two matches later, the Three Lions played more impressively with two wins against Mexico and France, both with a score of 2-0.

In the quarter-finals, England was lucky to beat Argentina with the minimum score to win the right to the semi-finals. The home team played very convincingly with two goals from Bobby Charlton to win the final 2-1 at Wembley, thereby advancing to the final.

The opponent of the Three Lions in the final is the West Germany team of “Football Emperor” Beckenbauer and goalscorer Uwe Seeler.

The host country’s line-up in the final includes: Gordon Banks, George Cohen, Jack Charlton, Bobby Moore, Ray Wilson, Nobby Stiles, Alan Ball, Sir Bobby Charlton, Martin Peters, Sir Geoff Hurst, Roger Hunt, Sir Alfred Ramsey.

In this match, Bobby Charton did not score as in the semi-final but he was very successful in mentoring captain Beckenbauer in West Germany. Despite being led, Geoff Hurst had an equalizer in the 18th minute.

How many times have you won the world cup?
Hurst’s controversial goal in the 101st minute.

The home field advantage helped the English lions play excitedly and in the 78th minute, Martin Peters raised the score to 2-1. Unexpectedly, in the 90th minute of the match, Wolfgang Weber still managed to score the equalizer, forcing the two teams to play extra time.

The drama of the final occurred in the 101st minute when Swiss referee Mr. Dienst recognized Hurst’s controversial goal. In the last minute of extra time, it was Hurst who scored another 4-2 goal for England.

Later, when technology developed, it was discovered that Hurst’s goal in the 101st minute was not wrong when the ball just hit the crossbar but never rolled over the line.

Thus, England has won its first World Cup at home. This is also the only championship to date.

Impressions of the 1966 World Cup

The 1966 World Cup was held from 11 to 30 July in 7 different cities of England. A total of 71 teams participated in the qualifying round to select 14 teams to participate in the final round along with the host England and the defending world champion Brazil.

16 teams participated in the 1966 World Cup final round: England, France, Uruguay, Mexico, West Germany, Argentina, Spain, Switzerland, Brazil, Portugal, Hungary, Bulgaria, USSR, Italy, Chile, North North Korea.

The 8th World Cup ended with the championship belonging to the host England. West Germany team won the runner-up. The Portuguese team ranked third and the fourth place belonged to the Soviet Union.

The imprint of the host country England in this World Cup is most evident in the creation of the image of the World Cup mascot. The World Cups before 1966 did not have a symbolic mascot. But until this year, England used the image of a white lion wearing a British national flag shirt named Willie to be the mascot for the 1966 World Cup. From here on, the host countries of the World Cup must have a spirit. representative object.

Some tournament records:

The tournament has a total of 32 matches with a total of 89 goals (average 2.78 goals/match). 32 matches welcomed a total of 1,614,677 spectators, an average of 50,458 people/match. In which, the match with the largest audience was England – France (round 1) with 98,270 people. The match with the least audience is Chile – North Korea (round 1) with 15,887 people.

The team that scored the most goals in the 1966 World Cup was Portugal with 17 goals. The earliest goal of the tournament was scored in the 1st minute of Park Seung Zin in the match between North Korea and Portugal.

Personal honors:

  • The youngest player is Tostao (Brazil, 19 years 171 days)
  • The oldest player is Djalma Santos (Brazil, 37 years 166 days)
  • World Cup top scorer 1966 belongs to Eusébio of Portugal with 9 goals
  • Best young player goes to Frank Beckenbauer (West Germany)
Source link:
Back to top button